Board of Trustees: Individual Members Edit


01 MWalB00015A


  • 1947-2001, undated (Creation)
  • Date acquired: 1998-07-08 (Other)


  • 7.00 Linear Feet (Whole)
  • 6 record center boxes, 2 manuscript boxes other_unmapped (Whole)
  • 7.00 Linear Feet (Whole)

Agent Links



  • Arrangement

    Arranged in seven series: 1. James Axelrod, 1949-1983, undated; 2. Henry Foster, 1973-2008, undated; 3. Meyer Jaffe, 1948-1975; 4. Irving Kane, 1953-1976; 5. Norman Rabb, circa 1949-1993; 6. Walter Rosenblith, 1978-1995; 7. Various Members, 1936-2001, undated.

    Series 1, 3, 4, and 5 are arranged by subseries. Series 2 is arranged chronologically. Series 7 is arranged alphabetically.

    For more information about each series, please consult the series descriptions in the box and folder listing.

  • Conditions Governing Access

    Some material is restricted; please consult the University Archivist.

    Access to the collection is in accordance with the policies of the Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections Department, Brandeis University. Please contact the department for more information.

  • Conditions Governing Use

    Requests to reproduce or publish material from the collection should be directed to the Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections Department, Brandeis University.

  • Accruals and Additions

    Box 7 - Lown Papers - still needs to be processed and added to finding aid Addendum - Philip Lown Papers, rec. 04/22/02 Processed by Jason Pierceson and Eliot Wilczek, Summer 1998. Reprocessed by Eliot Wilczek and Ghislaine Vode, Spring 2000. 2.5 cu. ft. of unprocessed materials (Norman Rabb) added to collection on Sept. 14, 2006.

  • Preferred Citation

    Board of Trustees: Individual Members, Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections Department, Brandeis University.

  • Other Descriptive Information

    Addenda to this collection may not be listed in the finding aid, but may be available for research use. Please contact us for more information.

  • Biographical or Historical Information

    The Board of Trustees is authorized to have up to fifty members who are responsible for and are the final authority on all aspects of the University's operations. The specific functions of the Board of Trustees are reflected by the standing committees of the Board: Academic Affairs; Audit; Budget and Finance; Development; Executive; Honorary Degrees; Investment; Health Services; Nominating; Personnel, Compensation and Ethics; Physical Facilities; and Student Affairs.

    The Board of Trustees selects the president of the University who is responsible solely to the Board. In addition to the members, the Board also includes four faculty and three student representatives. Ex officio members include the chair of the Fellows, the president of the National Women's Committee, and the president of the Alumni Association. The officers of the Board include the Chair, Vice-Chairs, Treasurer, and Secretary. The Board of Trustees began in 1947 with George Alpert as its first Chair. Prominent trustees have included Leonard Bernstein and Eleanor Roosevelt. The current chair is Stephen B. Kay.

  • Related Materials

    For additional information on the Board of Trustees, see the Board of Trustees Collection and the Board of Trustees series of the Sachar Presidential Papers. For additional information on George Alpert see the George Alpert Collection.

  • Scope and Contents

    Files in this collection were created from 1936 through 2010. Materials include correspondence, photographs, reports, meeting minutes, and newspaper clippings. Many of the files concern the University's budget and fundraising efforts. Some files belonging to James Axelrod record the activities of various trustees committees, particularly the Executive Committee. Most of the photographs from Norman Rabb record events such as convocations and commencements at Brandeis.


  • Type
    Container 1 Type
    Container 1 Indicator