Book Manuscripts and Research Notes Edit


Component Unique Identifier
Series 3
Level of Description


  • 1930s-circa 1995 (Creation)


  • Scope and Contents

    Organized by book and publication date, this series includes manuscripts and research notes for Feuer's published and unpublished monographs, including "Psychoanalysis and Ethics" (1955), "Spinoza and the Rise of Liberalism" (1958), "The Scientific Intellectual" (1963), "The Conflict of Generations" (1969), "Marx and the Intellectuals: A Series of Post-Ideological Essays" (1969), "Einstein and the Generations of Science" (1974), "Ideology and the Ideologists" (1975), and "Imperialism and the Anti-Imperialist Mind" (1986). The series also contains drafts and notes for several uncompleted projects, including "Regressive Society" (which was eventually reorganized and transformed into "Imperialism and the Anti-Imperialist Mind"), "Book on Wisdom" (begun in the 1980s), and Feuer's unpublished biography of John Dewey (with extensive research notes).